Josh Smith

Josh Smith retained his seat on the Hamilton County Board of County Commissioners.

JASPER — Josh Smith will remain in the Hamilton County Board of County Commissioners’ District 2 seat.

Smith received 632 votes and democrat Sandy Hurst received 444 votes.

Chuck Brannan won the county's Florida House of Representatives District 10 race with 2,815 votes. Ronald W. Williams II received 1,539 votes. Fred Martin received 63 votes. Merrillee Malwitz Jipson received 67 votes.

Brannan had received nearly 73 percent of the vote within the district, which also includes Columbia, Suwannee and Baker counties as well as part of Alachua County. Williams had 23 percent of the vote while Malwtiz Jipson received 2.78 percent with 1,617 votes and Martin had 792 votes (1.36 percent).

Gov. Rick Scott, the Republican nominee, won the county election for U.S Senator race with 2,856 votes. Democrat incumbent Bill Nelson received 1,662 votes.

Scott received 4,074,301 votes statewide (50.21 percent) to 4,039,601 (49.79 percent) for Nelson in a race that was still too close to call late Tuesday night, although Scott declared himself the winner.

The race appears headed to a recount with the difference of just 0.42 percent, less than the 0.5 percent margin that triggers an automatic recount per state law.

"We are proceeding to a recount," Nelson said Wednesday morning in a brief statement.

Republican Virginia Fuller won the county election for U.S. Representative District 5 with 2,745 votes. Incumbent Al Lawson received 1,754 votes. Lawson, though, led the district vote with 66 percent of the votes.

Ron DeSantis (Jeanette Nunez) won the Hamilton County election with 2,908 votes. Andrew Gillum (Chris King) received 1,582 votes.

Shortly after 11 p.m. Tuesday, Gillum conceded the governor race to DeSantis, the Republican nominee.

"We didn’t win this transaction...but what we believe in holds true today," Gillum said in conceding the race according to media partners WTXL-TV.

DeSantis, a former U.S. Representative from the state's Sixth District, received 4,052,545 votes statewide to Gillum's 3,997,007. 

Ashley Moody won the county's Attorney General election with 2,942 votes. Sean Shaw received 1,527 votes. Jeffrey Marc Siskind received 47 votes.

The county's Chief Financial Officer election went to Jimmy Patronis with 2,877 votes. Jeremy Ring received 1,591 votes.

The county's Commissioner of Agriculture race went to Matt Caldwell with 2,897 votes. Nicole“Nikki” Fried received 1,614 votes.

Statewide, Moody (52 percent) and Patronis (52 percent) both won as well. Caldwell, though, had 4,001,674 votes to 3,984,458 votes for Democrat Nicole “Nikki” Fried, a margin of just 0.22 percent, which will likely head to a recount as well.

Jessie R. Box is a reporter for the Suwannee Democrat, Jasper News and Mayo Free Press. Her beats include general assignment, government and police. ​

Election Results

Race Candidate Hamilton County Votes Total Votes
Governor Ron DeSantis (R) 2,908 4,052,545
Andrew Gillum (D) 1,588 3,997,007
Darcy Richardson (Reform) 21 46,727
Kyle Gibson (NPA) 17 24,226
Ryan Foley (NPA) 8 14,427
Bruce Stanley (NPA) 7 14,350
U.S. Senator Rick Scott (R) 2,856 4,074,301
Bill Nelson (D) 1,662 4,039,601
U.S. Representative, District 5 Virginia Fuller (R) 2,745 89,664
Al Lawson (D) 1,754 180,105
Attorney General Ashley Moody (R) 2,942 4,207,453
Sean Shaw (D) 1,527 3,699,185
Jeffrey Marc Siskind (NPA) 47 143,830
Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis (R) 2,877 4,127,360
Jeremy Ring (D) 1,591 3,826,036
Commissioner of Agriculture Matt Caldwell (R) 2,897 4,001,674
Nicole 'Nikki' Fried (D) 1,614 3,984,458
State Representative, District 10 Chuck Brannan (R) 2,815 42,390
Ronald W. Williams II (D) 1,539 13,404
Fred S. Martin (NPA) 63 793
Merrillee Malwitz Jipson (NPA) 67 1,617
County Commissioner, District 2 Josh Smith (R) 632
Sandy Hurst (D) 444

This Week's Circulars