Henry McCray

Henry McCray

MAYO — In the lone local race to be decided Tuesday, Henry McCray won the Republican primary and will advance to November’s general election.

There, McCray will face Democrat Kevin Barrington and non-party candidate Brad Knight in the race for Lafayette County Board of County Commission’s District 2 seat.

McCray received 404 votes to Don Becton’s 247 votes to win the Republican nod.

“It is an honor and a privilege to get through the first round,” McCray said. 

He plans on visiting his potential constituents in the next few months to discuss their ideas and expectation for Lafayette County. 

With 4,307 registered voters in Lafayette County only 1,261 ballots were cast. The voter turnout was 29.28 percent, slightly higher that the 29 percent for Florida. 

In state-wide races, Andrew Gillium won the Democratic nomination for Governor. He will face Republican nominee Ron DeSantis in the General Election. 

Gwen Graham won the local votes with 274 votes, while Gillium received 95 votes. 

Adam Putnam won the county's Republican Governor race with 407 votes and DeSantis received 249 votes.

Sean Shaw won the Democratic Attorney General race with 1,024,297 votes in the state. His Republican opponent will be Ashley Moody, with 880,070 votes. 

In the county race, Shaw received 332 votes while his Democrat opponent, Ryan Torres received 167.

Moody received 445 votes and her Republican opponent, Frank White received 198 votes.

Nicole “Nikki” Fried won the state’s Democratic race for Commissioner of Agriculture and also was the top choice locally with 192 votes. In the Republican race, Matt Caldwell — the state winner — also topped Lafayette ballots with 278 votes.

Rick Scott will face Bill Nelson at polls in November for the U.S. Senate seat. 

In the state, Scott received 1,452,952 votes while his opponent Roque De La Fuente received 186,636.

In Lafayette County, Scott received 603 votes while De La Fuente received 63 votes.

This Week's Circulars