Henry McCray

Henry McCray

MAYO — Henry McCray will be Lafayette County’s new county commissioner.

McCray, a Republican, won a three-man race for the commission seat in Tuesday’s general election.

McCray received 1,365 votes (48.8 percent) to 985 votes (35.2 percent) for Democrat Kevin Barrington and 447 votes (15.98 percent) for non-party candidate James “Brad” Knight.

In the statewide races, Lafayette County voters also strongly favored the Republican candidates.

Rick Scott, the state’s Republican governor who was challenging Democrat incumbent Bill Nelson for a U.S. Senate seat, captured nearly 78 percent of the county’s vote. 

Scott received 4,074,301 votes statewide (50.21 percent) to 4,039,601 (49.79 percent) for Nelson in a race that was still too close to call late Tuesday night, although Scott declared himself the winner.

The race appears headed to a recount with the difference of just 0.42 percent, less than the 0.5 percent margin that triggers an automatic recount per state law.

"We are proceeding to a recount," Nelson said Wednesday morning in a brief statement.

Ron DeSantis received 83.7 percent of the county’s vote in the gubernatorial race with 2,346 votes to 415 for Andrew Gillum, the Democrat mayor from Tallahassee.

Gillum conceded the race to DeSantis shortly after 11 p.m.

"We didn’t win this transaction...but what we believe in holds true today," Gillum said in conceding the race according to media partners WTXL-TV.

DeSantis, a former U.S. Representative from the state's Sixth District, received 4,052,545 votes statewide to Gillum's 3,997,007

In the other local results in statewide races, Ashley Moody received nearly 84 percent of the ballots for attorney general, Jimmy Patronis had 82.8 percent of the votes for chief financial officer and Matt Caldwell received 83.6 percent of the votes for Commissioner of Agriculture.

Statewide, Moody (52 percent) and Patronis (52 percent) both won as well. Caldwell, though, had 4,001,674 votes to 3,984,458 votes for Democrat Nicole “Nikki” Fried, a margin of just 0.22 percent, which will likely head to a recount as well.

Republican incumbent Neal Dunn took 2,310 votes (83.6 percent) in the race for U.S. Representative for District 2. Bob Rackleff received 453 votes. Districtwide, Dunn had 67 percent of the vote.

Election results

Race Candidate Lafayette County Votes Total Votes
Governor Ron DeSantis (R) 2,346 4,052,545
Andrew Gillum (D) 415 3,997,007
Darcy Richardson (Reform) 13 46,727
Kyle Gibson (NPA) 11 24,226
Ryan Foley (NPA) 5 14,427
Bruce Stanley (NPA) 11 14,350
U.S. Senator Rick Scott (R) 2,177 4,074,301
Bill Nelson (D) 615 4,039,601
U.S. Representative, District 2 Neal Dunn (R) 2,310 199,112
Bob Rackleff (D) 453 96,068
Attorney General Ashley Moody (R) 2,338 4,207,453
Sean Shaw (D) 410 3,699,185
Jeffrey Marc Siskind (NPA) 39 143,830
Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis (R) 2,284 4,127,360
Jeremy Ring (D) 472 3,826,036
Commissioner of Agriculture Matt Caldwell (R) 2,323 4,001,674
Nicole 'Nikki' Fried (D) 456 3,984,458
County Commissioner District 2 Henry McCray (R) 1,365
Kevin Barrington (D) 985
James 'Brad' Knight (NPA) 447

This Week's Circulars