MAYO — The Lafayette FFA Chapter held its 79th annual banquet May 6 in the Dorothy Buchanan Hart Gymnasium on the campus of Lafayette High School.

Four hundred members, parents, alumni, and supporters were in attendance. The attendees enjoyed a meal that included brisket, baked potato, carrot salad, green beans, roll and punch bowl cake.

The FFA Creed was recited by Mallory McCray. The 2018-2019 Lafayette FFA Officer Teams performed FFA opening ceremonies and the United States of America was honored by the playing of the National Anthem.

All members who competed in a career development event or exhibited a livestock animal received a pin for their FFA jacket. The 2019 recipients of the Discovery, Greenhand, Chapter, State and American FFA degrees were recognized.

In closing the special awards were announced and Stewart Hancock announced the newly elected 2019-2020 Lafayette Officer Team.

Receiving special awards were: Ainsley Peterson (Star Farmer), James Gay (Star Farmer - Placement), Gabrielle Perry (Star Farmer - Agri-Business), Hailey Peterson (Star Chapter Degree), Seth Chandler (Star Greenhand), Cooper Nemcovic (Star Discovery), Hannah McCray (High School Tom Hart Leadership), Cason Driver (Middle School Tom Hart Leadership), Jackson Powers (Outstanding Senior Member), Trace Fillyaw (Outstanding Middle Member), Mark Crum (High School Hendrick SAE Award), Seth Greaves (Middle School Hendrick SAE Award), Hannah Murray (Senior Townsend Workhorse Award), Elisabeth Cook (Middle School Townsend Workhorse Award) and Mary Ann Pearson (Ceraso T.U.F.F. “Tough” Award).

The FFA 2019 honorary members were Amanda Hickman, Jeff Mosley, Aaron Gresham, Matt Buchanan, Lynn Buchanan, Jason Singletary, Debbie Singletary, Dr. Matt Peterson, Brenda Peterson, Darren Driver and Marla Driver.

The banquet included more than $3,000 in sponsorships from Mr. and Mrs. Walter Brown, Byrd’s Logging, Lyons Family Farm, Mayo Fertilizer, Mrs. Debbie Land, Mr. Angie Ceraso, Singletary Trucking, Land Dairy, Mayo Auto Parts, Hendrick Cattle Company, Dr. and Mrs. Jimmy Wilkerson, Mr. and Mrs. Ronnie Land, Drummond Community Bank, Mr. and Mrs. Ted Henderson, Mr. and Mrs. John Levi Vann, Mr. Dewayne Koon, Hamlin’s Auto Supply, Lafayette County Farm Bureau Federation, Lyons Show Pigs, Lafayette County Young Farmers & Ranchers Program, Mr. and Mrs. Chris Vann, Mr. Garrett Hart ,Mr. and Mrs. Woody Larson, Ms. Mary Cassube, Mr. and Mrs. Tom Peterson, Townsend Livestock Market, First Federal Savings Bank, Mr. and Mrs. WC Hart, Mr. and Mrs. Bill Gaylord, Lafayette County Farm Bureau Insurance, Mr. and Mrs. Eddie Fredriksson, Subway of Mayo, Live Oak Pest Control and Lafayette State Bank.

The FFA officers for 2019-20 at the high school are President, Jaxson Beach; Vice President, Mark Crum; Secretary, Seth Chandler; Treasurer, Jackson Powers; Reporter, Hannah Murray; Sentinel, Daniela Camarillo; Parliamentarian, Jaley Moseley; and Chaplain, Cason Driver.

Middle school FFA officers will be President, Jack Peterson; Vice President, Avery Buchanan; Secretary, Callie Buchanan; Treasurer, Peyton Ditter; Reporter, Sidney Wimberley; Sentinel, Emily Reese Thomas; Parliamentarian, Trey Galbraith; and Chaplain, Kelby Grace Lyons.

This Week's Circulars