JASPER — The Jasper City Council will have at least one new member.

Gerald Lewis, the current council member from District 4, is not seeking re-election.

Palmer Smith and Carlton Selph are both running in the upcoming election for Lewis’ seat. 

The city election is set for March 3 at City Hall with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The deadline to register to vote in the election is Monday.

The other council seats up for election are District 2 and District 3.

Darnell Lumpkin, the current councilor from District 2, is running unopposed and will be re-elected. Lumpkin currently serves as the city’s mayor.

Jay Daigle, the current District 3 councilor and the council’s chair, is seeking re-election but will be opposed by Anita Lessman.

Kara M. Compo is a reporter for the Suwannee Democrat, Jasper News and Mayo Free Press. Her beats include general assignment, government, politics, law enforcement and first responders. ​

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you