Hamilton County Supervisor of Elections seal

JASPER — Hamilton County voters will have plenty of seats to vote for this general election year.

But so far, there aren’t any local candidates to choose from.

Laura Hutto, the Hamilton County Supervisor of Elections, said her office has received some inquiries but no candidate has filed the preliminary form to become a candidate yet.

Granted there is still time with a May 11 deadline for petitions and the qualifying period not ending until June 12.

That leads into the Aug. 18 primary election and the Nov. 3 general election.

“We haven’t had anyone officially file with us,” Hutto said. “They have a little time to get us their petitions.”

Among the offices up for election are the constitutional officers: sheriff, clerk of courts, supervisor of elections, property appraiser and tax collector as well as the superintendent of schools. There are also three seats up for election on the county commission: Districts 1, 3 and 5; and two school board seats: Districts 2 and 3.

“We’re gearing up and trying to get ready,” Hutto added. “It’s coming around fast.”

Hamilton County voters will also be choosing a United States Representative as well as a State Representative, State Senator, State Attorney for Circuit 3, Public Defender and Circuit Judge.

Those races have declared candidates.

Running so far for the seat in the U.S. House of Representatives from Florida’s District 5 are Democrat Albert Duane Chester II, from Orange Park, and Republican Matthew Floyd Lusk, from Jacksonville.

Chuck Brannan, the Republican representative from Macclenny, is seeking re-election to the Florida House from District 10 and is currently unopposed.

Seeking the District 3 seat in the State Senate are Republicans Benjamin Alexander Thaddeus John Horbowy and Marva Harris Preston, Democrats Loranne Ausley and Scott Charles Maddox and Libertarian candidate Erin Dawn Gill.

Running for the State Attorney position that Jeff Siegmeister resigned in December are Republicans John Foster Durrett and Christina Nieto Seifert, both from Lake City.

Clifton “Cliff” William Wilson Jr., a Republican from Lake City, is the lone candidate currently for the circuit’s public defender position.

Incumbents Greg Parker and Mark Feagle are currently unopposed for their circuit judge seats.

The first election date for Hamilton County will be the City of Jasper election on March 3. The deadline for city residents to register to vote is Feb. 3.

The Presidential Preference Primary is set for March 17 with a deadline to register of Feb. 18. Hutto said voters need to make sure they have their political party set for that election as well.

White Springs’ town election is set for April 28 with Jennings’ town election scheduled for June 2.

Jamie Wachter is the editor of the Suwannee Democrat, Jasper News and Mayo Free Press.

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you