DALTON, Ga. — All eight high schools in Whitfield and Murray counties remain in their respective classifications under the Georgia High School Association's statewide reclassification announced on Tuesday.

The classifications are effective for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years.

Northwest Whitfield is now the largest of 57 schools in Class 4A, with Southeast Whitfield also staying put as the third largest school in Class 4A. Their competition in Region 6-4A might shift as LaFayette dropped to Class 3A.

LaFayette has the chance to join Coahulla Creek, Murray County and North Murray, who all remained in Class 3A. Their group in Region 6-3A should likely shift as Calhoun moved to Class 5A and Haralson County dropped to Class 2A.

Dalton remains in Class 6A as Harrison moves out of Region 6-6A to Class 7A.

Christian Heritage remains in Class A-Private.

Morris Innovative remains in Class A-Public.

All regions are subject to change and should be released by December. All schools can to appeal their reclassification if filed no later than 4 p.m. on Monday. The Reclassification Committee will meet in the GHSA office beginning at 9 a.m. on Tuesday to hear any appeals.

This was the first year the GHSA used a multiplier for schools in classes 2A through 6A. Each student residing outside the school's designated attendance zone was multiplied by two and added to the school's Student Reclassification Count -- which determined their classification. Schools in classes 1A and 7A were classified based only on their basic enrollment numbers since the rules adopted by the State Executive Committee do not allow schools to be forced up into 7A or out of 1A because of the multiplier.

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you