MAYO — Voters can begin heading to the polls Saturday for the Florida House District 7 special election.

Early voting begins Saturday and runs through June 15 in the special election. Polls are open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day during the early voting period.

Election day is June 18.

Running to fill the seat vacated by Halsey Beshears after he was appointed earlier this year by Gov. Ron DeSantis to serve as the head of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, are Republican Jason Shoaf and Democrat Ryan Terrell.

Shoaf, a Port St. Joe businessman, won the special primary election in April by garnering 48.95 percent of the vote across the 10-county district to beat Mike Watkins, Lynda Bell and Virginia Fuller. Sheaf was also the top vote-getter in Lafayette County during the primary.

Terrell was unopposed in the Democrat primary. The former legislative aide for Rep. Katie Edwards, Terrell lives in Tallahassee.

This Week's Circulars