Gov. Rick Scott, speaking during a Suwannee County campaign stop earlier this year, easily won the county's vote and led a tight race statewide for a U.S. Senate seat.

LIVE OAK, Fla. — Ron DeSantis will be the next governor of Florida, but who will be the state's U.S. Senator is still to be determined.

Shortly after 11 p.m. Tuesday, Democrat candidate Andrew Gillum conceded the governor race to DeSantis, the Republican nominee.

"We didn’t win this transaction...but what we believe in holds true today," Gillum said in conceding the race according to media partners WTXL-TV.

DeSantis, a former U.S. Representative from the state's Sixth District, received 4,058,589 votes statewide to Gillum's 4,007,785. a margin of 0.62 percent. 

DeSantis won handily in Suwannee County, where he received 12,253 votes to 3,455 for Gillum, the Tallahassee mayor.

Rick Scott, the state's current governor, was also locked in a tight race statewide for a U.S. Senate seat against Democrat incumbent Bill Nelson. Scott received 4,081,179 votes statewide (50.19 percent) to 4,050,940 (49.81 percent) for Nelson in a race that was still too close to call Wednesday morning, although Scott declared himself the winner Tuesday night.

The race appears headed to a recount with the difference of just 0.38 percent, less than the 0.5 percent margin that triggers an automatic recount per state law.

"We are proceeding to a recount," Nelson said Wednesday morning in a brief statement issued by his office after Scott "prematurely claimed victory" on Tuesday night.

Scott spokesman Chris Hartline responded to Nelson with a statement of his own, according to media partners WTXL-TV.

"This race is over," Hartline's statement said. "It's a sad way for Bill Nelson to end his career. He is desperately trying to hold on to something that no longer exists."

In Suwannee County, Scott received 74 percent of the vote (11,854) to 4,043 votes for Nelson.

Suwannee County voters also voted heavily in favor of the Republican candidates in the other three statewide races as well as U.S. Representative race in District 2 and State Representative race in District 10.

SD_StateRep Brannan.JPG

Chuck Brannan had a big lead in the race for state representative for District 10.

In the state representative race, Chuck Brannan received 75.3 percent of the Suwannee County vote compared to 20.4 percent for Democrat Ronald W. Williams II. Non-party candidates Fred S. Martin, of McAlpin, and Merrillee Malwitz Jipson both received around 2 percent of the ballots with 368 votes for Martin and 309 for Malwitz Jipson.

Brannan had received nearly 73 percent of the vote within the district, which also includes Columbia, Hamilton and Baker counties as well as part of Alachua County. Williams had 23 percent of the vote while Malwtiz Jipson received 2.78 percent with 1,617 votes and Martin had 792 votes (1.36 percent).

Republican incumbent Neal Dunn won the Suwannee County vote in the race for U.S. Representative with 12,367 votes to 3,471 votes for Democrat Bob Rackleff. Districtwide, Dunn had 67 percent of the vote.

In the other statewide races, Ashley Moody took 78 percent of the Suwannee County vote for attorney general with Jimmy Patronis receiving 77 percent of the ballots for chief financial officer and Matt Caldwell receiving 77 percent of the vote for the Commissioner of Agriculture.

Statewide, Moody (52 percent) and Patronis (52 percent) both won as well. Caldwell, though, had 4,008,205 votes to 3,995,684 votes for Democrat Nicole “Nikki” Fried, a margin of just 0.16 percent, which would trigger an automatic recount as well.

In the lone Suwannee County race, Ronnie Lawson retained his Conservation District seat, receiving 8,050 votes to Jordan Bosserman’s 5,772 votes.

Election results

Race Candidate Suwannee County votes Total Votes
Governor Ron DeSantis (R) 12,253 4,052,545
Andrew Gillum (D) 3,455 3,997,007
Darcy Richardson (Reform) 106 46,727
Kyle Gibson (NPA) 46 24,226
Ryan Foley (NPA) 35 14,427
Bruce Stanley (NPA) 35 14,350
U.S. Senator Rick Scott (R) 11,854 4,074,301
Bill Nelson (D) 4,043 4,039,601
U.S. Representative, District 2 Neal Dunn (R) 12,367 199,112
Bob Rackleff (D) 3,471 96,068
Attorney General Ashley Moody (R) 12,384 4,207,453
Sean Shaw (D) 3,243 3,699,185
Jeffrey Siskind (NPA) 212 143,830
Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis (R) 12,113 4,127,360
Jeremy Ring (D) 3,581 3,826,036
Commissioner of Agriculture Matt Caldwell (R) 12,198 4,001,674
Nicole 'Nikki' Fried (D) 3,574 3,984,458
State Representative, District 10 Chuck Brannan (R) 11,929 42,390
Ronald W. Williams II (D) 3,234 13,404
Merrillee Malwitz Jipson (NPA) 309 1,617
Fred S. Martin (NPA) 368 793
Suwannee County Conservation District, Group 4 Ronnie Lawson 8,050
Jordan Bosserman 5,772

This Week's Circulars