MAYO — The deadline to register to vote in the Special Primary Election for House District 7 is Monday.

The primary election will only feature the Republican candidates as Florida is a closed primary state, meaning voters must vote the primary ballot of the political party in which they are registered.

The Republican candidates are Lynda Bell, Virginia Fuller, Jason Shoaf and Mike Watkins. The Democratic candidate is Ryan Terrell.

The Special Primary Election will take place on Tuesday, April 9, and the Special Election will be held on Tuesday, June 18. Early voting for the primary will run March 30 through April 6. The general election’s early voting period is June 8-15.

Halsey Beshears resigned from his state representative seat after he was appointed last month by Governor Ron DeSantis to serve as the head of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

If you would like to change your party, you can stop by the Lafayette County Supervisor of Elections office or visit online at and click on “Register to Vote.”

Jessie R. Box is a reporter for the Suwannee Democrat, Jasper News and Mayo Free Press. Her beats include general assignment, government and police. ​

This Week's Circulars