"It was one of our most successful seasons," swimming coach Blaine Peerson said at the annual Suwannee High swim team banquet.

The girls team posted a 5-3 winning record and the boys team posted a 3-5 record. Seven Suwannee swimmers made it to the district finals this year.

Peerson had some great figures he presented to the audience gathered at Cheryl's Buffet Restaurant.

The team swam 150,000 yards in practice, 91 miles. there were 22 swimmers that started out on the team which finished with 18 swimmers. Forty percent of the team made the district finals.

Swimming is a team-oriented sport pushed along by outstanding individual efforts. At Suwannee High, swimming is a varsity sport only.

Josh Jones, Tell Clayton, Venee "Skeeter" Williams, Ashley Harris, Amber Bailey, Page Thomas, Sarah Dunaway, Katie Prevatt, Aaron Wells and Greg Boyle, the resident wrestler who dabbles in swimming all got their first year letter in swimming.

Receiving their second year bar in swimming, were Brittney Tompkins, Chad Wainwright and Hannah Fortner.

Lettering for their third year and receiving their third year bar in swimming were Michelle Little and Sara Tomlinson.

Lettering in swimming for the fourth year were Kenneth Quirk, Caroline Wood and Jesse Clayton.

Most Improved Swimmer for this year was Sarah Dunaway for the girls and Venee "Skeeter" Williams for the boys.

Earning the most points and receiving the High-Point Award for 2003 was Chad Wainwright for the boys with 61 points and Caroline Wood for the girls with 84 points.

Scholar Athletes for swimming were Greg Boyle, Amber Bailey, Sarah Dunaway and Hannah Fortner. The Scholar Athlete for the boys was Chad Wainwright with the highest GPA of 3.5 and for the girls Caroline Wood with a 3.92.

The boys' Leadership Award went to team captain Jesse Clayton. Clayton took care of the pool as well as the team.

The Leadership Award for the girls was team captain Caroline Wood.

The boys' 400-yard freestyle team broke another school record this year. The team broke it last year, and this year they took more seconds off last year's time. The members of this winning team were Chad Wainwright, Jesse Clayton, Kenneth Quirk and Greg Boyle.

Janet Schrader may be reached by calling 1/386/362-1734 ext. 132 or by e-mail at janet.schrader@gaflnews.com.

This Week's Circulars