The Nicholas Dahlberg Memorial Little League Scholarship Award was recently presented to Wayne Atwell at the annual Awards Day program for the Lafayette Little League at the Edward Perry Sports Complex. He was presented a Certificate of Award which recognizes his outstanding performance during the 2004-2005 season.

He has just competed the sixth grade, and will be recognized again as a graduating senior, and then receive $250.00 toward furthering his education. Wayne is the eleventh recipient of this award. Wayne is the son of Ms. Tennesa Richardson

Michael Kelly, who was the recipient of this award in 1999 was recognized this year for his Lafayette Little League award at the Senior Awards Ceremony.

Previous recipients of this award were: 1995 Brandon Hewett; 1996 Lance McCray, 1997 Seth Jackson, 1998 Marcus Edwards, 1999 Michael Kelly, 2000 Cody Smith, 2001 Kyle Pearson; 2002 Kristopher Pearson, 2003 Benjamin Allen Bell, and 2004 Brooks Russell Laminack These $250 awards are made possible by a scholarship program established in the Lafayette Penny Foundation, Inc. by Nicholas's parents, Cindy and Mark O'Steen. Tony Barrington served as Project Coordinator for the Foundation. Nicholas was an enthusiastic and outstanding Little League player, and these scholarships (for use upon LHS graduation) are a memorial for Nicholas, and to annually recognize a Little League player who best exhibits sportsmanship, good attitude, desire to play, hustle, and love of the game.

Submitted by Hugh Smith

This Week's Circulars